Train crossing the road in Kiltubrid, County Leitrim. Source
Classic postcard view of the line
C&L railway stamp
The Arigna Tramway was a branch of the Cavan and Leitrim Railway in Ireland. Steam worked to the end this system almost made it to the 1960s, closing on the 31st of March 1959. It was a three foot gauge line, in common with most Irish narrow gauge lines.
It's most interesting feature was the Arigna Tramway, a mainly roadside route which connected the coal mine at Arigna with the rest of the line at Ballinamore. As late as 1920 a 3 mile plus freight only extension of the tramway allowed coal to be shipped directly from the mine to locations all over Ireland. This was the only coal mine on the island.
The tramway was a charming rural route and at the time of closure was unique in these islands and just about unique in western Europe.
More info (on the Cavan and Leitrim Railway including the Arigna line) from Wikipedia
The
Cavan & Leitrim Railway was a
3 ft (
914 mm)
narrow gauge railway in the counties of
Leitrim and
Cavan in the north-west of
Ireland, which ran from 1887 until 1959. Unusually for Ireland, this
3 ft (
914 mm) narrow gauge line survived on coal traffic, from the
mine at
Arigna. It outlived most of the other Irish narrow-gauge lines, giving a further lease of life to some of their redundant engines.
Early years
In September 1883, a public meeting in
Ballinamore declared that a
light railway and
tramway would open up the coal and iron districts of
Arigna and
Lough Allen. The Cavan and Leitrim Railway opened for goods traffic on 17 October 1887 and for passengers on 24 October 1887. The section from
Belturbet in County Cavan to
Dromod in County Leitrim was light railway, and a tramway ran from Ballinamore to Arigna. At the start both lines were operated by eight
Robert Stephenson and Company 4-4-0T locomotives. In later years locomotives from other closing narrow gauge lines were used.
Later years
In 1925, the company was amalgamated into the
Great Southern Railways. By the 1930s the Cavan and Leitrim Railway was in trouble due to road competition. The demolition of the carriage sheds as an economy measure only served to worsen the condition of the stock. It survived
World War II, but the opening of a power station near Lough Allen using Arigna coal, and not needing rail services, did not help. The line finally closed on 31 March 1959, the last exclusively steam narrow-gauge line in Ireland.
Routes
The Belturbet to Dromod part of the Cavan and Leitrim Railway ran from Belturbet through
Tomkin Road,
Ballyconnell,
Ballyheady,
Bawnboy Road,
Killyran,
Garadice, Ballinamore,
Lawderdale,
Fenagh,
Adoon,
Rosharry,
Mohill and
Dereen to Dromod.
Locomotives
Preservation
C & L Railway Station, Dromod
The preserved Cavan & Leitrim Railway is run by volunteers, based out of the former Dromod Station, in Co. Leitrim. Trains run every weekend, and on Mondays. The group also has a transport museum, with narrow-gauge trains of every gauge, buses, planes, fire engines and artillery guns from World War I and World War II. It is located beside the Irish Rail Station in Dromod. It was originally intended to rebuild the line to Mohill but this is now most unlikely to happen.
During 2014 train rides on the line ceased due to essential maintenance work and no date has been set for their resumption.