Preface by the SATToSE 2020 Organizers

SATToSE 2020, the 13th Seminar Series on Advanced Techniques & Tools for Software Evolution was scheduled to take place in Amsterdam, the Netherlands on July 1-2 2020, but was held virtually due to covid.

Past editions of SATToSE saw presentations on software visualisation techniques, tools for co-evolving various software artefacts, their consistency management, runtime adaptability and context-awareness, as well as empirical results about software evolution. This year, the papers accepted at SATToSE evolve around legacy systems and microservices, mining software repositories, evolution related to dependencies and theory/practice of software evolution. More information about SATToSE 2020 can be found at:

http://sattose.org/2020

SATToSE invited submissions of work in progress, publication summaries and artifacts (tools, libraries, datasets, etc.). Publication summaries were presentations of already published work so they are not included in the proceedings. Twelve contributions were submitted and presented at SATToSE (2 publication summaries, 9 work in progress and 1 artifact). All papers were reviewed by three referees. The proceedings include 8 papers; 7 work in progress and 1 artifact paper.

Two keynote speeches took place at SATToSE 2020. Anne Etien (Professor at the Université de Lille, France) gave the keynote speech "Rotten Green Tests", while Tom Mens (Professor at the University of Mons, Belgium) gave the second keynote "On the fragility of open source software packaging ecosystems".

We would like to thank the program committee, the hackathon organizers and the student volunteers who contributed to have a very interactive virtual SATToSE.

August 2020

Eleni Constantinou

Organizing Team

Ana Oprescu, University of Amsterdam (UvA), The Netherlands (General chair) Eleni Constantinou, Eindhoven University of Technology (TU/e), The Netherlands (Program chair)

Magiel Bruntink, Software Improvement Group (SIG), The Netherlands (Hackathon chair)

Hackathon Organizing Team

Magiel Bruntink, Software Improvement Group (SIG), The Netherlands Miroslav Zivkovic, Software Improvement Group (SIG), The Netherlands Nuria Bruch Tàrrega, University of Amsterdam (UvA), The Netherlands Chushu Gao, Software Improvement Group (SIG), The Netherlands

Program Committee members

Maurício Aniche, Delft University of Technology
Gemma Catolino, Delft University of Technology
Alexandre Decan, University of Mons
Felipe Ebert, Eindhoven University of Technology
Vasiliki Efstathiou, Athens University of Economics and Business
Anne Etien, CRIStAL - University of Lille
Clemens Grelck, University of Amsterdam
Verena Herbold, Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
Maria Kechagia, University College London
Cristina Marinescu, Politehnica University Timisoara
Lina María Ochoa Venegas, Centrum Winskunde & Informatica
Gregorio Robles, Universidad Rey Juan Carlos

Tushar Sharma, Siemens Corporate Technology Ioana Sora, Politehnica University of Timisoara