Advertisement

Protecting my concept

Started by October 03, 2024 12:51 AM
1 comment, last by Tom Sloper 2 days, 3 hours ago

Hello folks,

Googling some of my worries led me to this forum, and it looks like it is a wealth of resources.

So, I have been studying on my own for the last 3 years to get into the industry. I have made a concept/prototype to pitch for a mobile games publisher. At first contact, it was a video call. I explained to them it is not only a hypercasual game core but it is also a solution for monetizing F2P mobile games, LTV and player retention. A scalable concept to solve some problems. They told me how they work receiving prototypes, putting them on KPI tests, and if they pass, they can publish it. I understand that, I did not pitch the playable game, because I wanted to collaborate with them to develop it from scratch, so it could be scalable and ready to have future implementations and LiveOps…anyway, I kept working on the prototype, refined it and brainstorming ideas for the metagame, partnering, game economy, and contacted them again, Sent screenshots of the gameplay, videos.. screenshots of the documents… GDD, research, marketing, and game overview.. and I even gave them access to my online Project document(before denying access lately). They answered me, "Thank you for sharing this with us, and we will get back to you next week). It's been 2 weeks, They did not.

I don't say they have bad intentions or something, I understand people are busy in this industry and receive tons of emails daily, but it would feel bad if, months later, I saw my project published in their collection without me knowing.

It is a bit vast and blurry, but can I protect myself with some emails and screenshots? I have my project files saved online and offline that date from months ago?

Sorry for the long message and thank you

TMan012 said: